Review: Alpha by Rachel Vincent

9780778328186_smp.indd

Title: Alpha (Shifters #6)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Release Date/Publisher: October 1st 2010 by Mira Books
Finished: August 21st 2014
Pages: 480-eBook-owned
Series:
1. Stray
2. Rogue
3. Pride
4. Prey
5. Shift
6. Alpha

Synopsis from Goodreads

The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder and treason. Yeah, we’ve been busy. But now it’s time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother’s death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.
It’s not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I’m heading for a final showdown that can–that will–change everything forever. A showdown I’m not sure I’m ready for.
But life never waits until you’re ready.

What I Thought

*Probably contains a few small spoilers if you haven’t read the previous books*

This is the last book in the series and I’m sad to see it go! I really liked reading it and this author has now made me a permanent fan, especially after I already loved her Soul Screamers series.

So much goes down in this book and hardly any of it fair for Faythe and her Pride. Malone is the worst we’ve seen him yet and during the book you’re just waiting for him to get taken down. A lot of things happened that really made me wonder how the book was going to end, and a couple of those things I probably yelled out loud because of the injustice or craziness. There’s a bunch of fighting in both human and cat form and some previous shifters make a re-appearance in this which was cool.

There is still the love triangle that Faythe is trying to work out, and although I won’t tell you what happens I was really rooting for Marc the whole time (that’s not to say she did or didn’t choose him, I’m being vague on purpose). It was kind of frustrating during the whole book to be honest, but I really think it added to the tension. It almost felt like a clock ticking and they were losing time as it went on.

Honestly though, I loved this book and this whole series was just so good. Faythe was so strong and she really grew and changed as it went on, especially with all the crap they have to deal with. I have all the books on my Kobo but I’m going to have to find and buy the paperbacks. I highly recommend it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Alpha by Rachel Vincent

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.